You finished a 40-page guide and want to sell it for ₹499. Four names keep coming up: Razorpay, Topmate, Instamojo and Cashfree. The short answer to how to sell an ebook in India cheaply is: gateways keep the fee under 2 percent plus GST, store-style platforms take 5 to 20 percent but handle more of the work. This post puts real numbers on that, from fee pages I read on 2026-10-30, and shows a script so you can plug in your own price.
Limits up front. I read these pages through a summarising fetch tool, not a browser. Several were internally inconsistent, and I flag where. I haven't sold anything on these platforms in this session. This is a fee comparison, not tax or legal advice; ask a chartered accountant about GST and income tax.
What do the four platforms charge?
| Platform | Fee as listed on 2026-10-30 | GST on the fee | Settlement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Razorpay | UPI, cards, netbanking: "2% platform fee" (UPI shows zero MDR plus a 2% platform fee). Payment Pages and Buttons: "0.2% + Payment Gateway Fees" | "GST (18%) applies on Razorpay's service fee" | T+1, instant settlement is a paid add-on |
| Cashfree | "1.95% for all card, UPI, netbanking, and digital wallet transactions"; Payment Links and Forms not broken out | Not mentioned on the page I read | T+2 working days standard |
| Instamojo | Digital goods on store plans: Lite and Starter 10% + ₹3, Growth 5% + ₹3. Payment Links 2% + ₹3. Plans: Lite ₹0, Starter ₹6,999/yr, Growth ₹14,999/yr or ₹2,999/month | 18% on fees, added to plan prices too | T+3 |
| Topmate | 10% on sales through your own profile or link; 20% on sales to new buyers via its marketplace | Not stated | Not stated |
Discrepancies to resolve before you commit:
- Razorpay: the No-Code tools section lists Payment Pages at 0.2 percent plus gateway fees, while another list put them under "no extra cost". The page didn't reconcile them.
- Instamojo: one table showed Starter at ₹3,999 a year and Growth at ₹9,999, conflicting with the headline plan prices used above.
- Topmate: the page didn't say whether a gateway fee sits on top of the 10 percent.
- Cashfree: a festive offer waived gateway fees on the first ₹20 lakh of volume for merchants onboarding in a window. I don't know whether it's still open; it's a promotion, so don't build a plan on it.
How much do you keep on a ₹499 ebook?
This script uses the listed percentages, adds 18 percent GST on every fee as an assumption, and prints the take-home at three prices. I ran it on 2026-10-30. The ₹499 block:
Price Rs 499
Razorpay, UPI/card/netbanking (2% platform fee) fee 11.78 you keep 487.22 (97.6%)
Cashfree (1.95% flat on cards/UPI/netbanking) fee 11.48 you keep 487.52 (97.7%)
Instamojo Lite, digital (10% + 3) fee 62.42 you keep 436.58 (87.5%)
Instamojo Growth, digital (5% + 3) fee 32.98 you keep 466.02 (93.4%)
Topmate, own-link sale (10%, gateway fee unclear) fee 49.90 you keep 449.10 (90.0%)
Topmate, marketplace-sourced buyer (20%) fee 99.80 you keep 399.20 (80.0%)
The core of the script, which you can copy and edit:
GST = 0.18
def fee(price, pct, flat=0.0, gst=True):
f = price * pct / 100 + flat
return f * (1 + GST) if gst else f
for price in (199, 499, 999):
print(price, round(fee(price, 2.0), 2), round(fee(price, 10, 3), 2))
At ₹199, the flat ₹3 matters: Instamojo Lite keeps 86.4 percent versus 97.6 percent at Razorpay. At ₹999 the gap in rupees is large: ₹121.42 versus ₹23.58. For Topmate I did not add GST because the page did not state it; if it applies, the true fee is higher.
When does a paid Instamojo plan pay off?
The same script computed break-even for Growth (₹14,999 a year plus 18 percent GST, which is ₹17,699) against Lite:
Rs 199: Growth saves 11.74 per sale; plan costs 17699/yr -> break-even 1507 sales/yr
Rs 499: Growth saves 29.44 per sale; plan costs 17699/yr -> break-even 601 sales/yr
Rs 999: Growth saves 58.94 per sale; plan costs 17699/yr -> break-even 300 sales/yr
Unless you are confident of hundreds of sales a year, the paid plan isn't the move for a first ebook. Start on the free plan and revisit.
Which platform should you pick?
Decide on two questions: who brings the buyers, and who delivers the file.
- Your own audience (newsletter, LinkedIn, a site): the fee difference is yours to keep, so a gateway wins. Collect money with Razorpay or Cashfree and deliver the PDF yourself, for example by emailing a link after payment. The Razorpay Payment Links route needs no website. Our Cashfree vs Razorpay comparison covers the developer-side differences, and the Razorpay webhook post shows how to automate delivery safely if you can code.
- No audience yet, want a storefront with minimal setup: a store-style platform trades fees for convenience. Topmate's 10 percent on own-link sales is the cleaner number; its 20 percent applies when its marketplace brings the buyer, so you are paying for discovery.
- Price under ₹200: the flat ₹3 and percentage take hit hard. Consider a bundle priced higher.
Affiliate disclosure: some links on this page are affiliate links; they cost you nothing and I only link tools I'd mention anyway. I'd use Razorpay or Cashfree here, and the post works fine without either link. Each gateway needs business KYC before you can accept money, so do that early.
What does a launch checklist look like?
Untested checklist; adapt it.
- Fix the price and run the script above for your price.
- Complete KYC with your chosen platform and wait for approval.
- Decide delivery: manual email, a private download link, or a script. Test it with your own purchase.
- Write a refund line in plain words on the sales page. Digital goods still draw disputes.
- Ask an accountant about GST registration, invoices and where the income is reported.
- Keep a sheet of sales, fees and payouts so the numbers reconcile at month end.
If your ebook is about prompts, tie it to what readers can try free: the prompt library is a good model of how much to give away. For other ways to monetise the skill, see freelancing with AI in India.
What I could not verify
- Whether Razorpay or Cashfree payment pages deliver digital files automatically; the pricing pages didn't say.
- Topmate's digital-product delivery and gateway fee treatment, and its GST handling.
- Cashfree's GST on fees.
- Whether any offer or plan price changed after 2026-10-30.
- Anything about tax on your ebook income. That's for a professional.



